"Most companies would agree that as the risk of physical injury occurring on the job increases, the wages paid to employees should also increase. Hence it makes financial sense for employers to make the workplace safer: they could thus reduce their payroll expenses and save money."

The author of the argument claims that to make workplace safer, the salary of the employees should be increased. To support the argument, the author provides the evidence by citing the reason of extra payroll burden to employer, and this action will force the employer to make workplace safer. Although the argument certainly has some merits, the lack of evidence, weak assumption and vague language make the argument unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. Some of the flaws of the argument are as follows.

To begin with, the argument is based on the assumption that increase in wages is the sole solution to have a safer workplace. It fails to consider the various reasons of safety hazards, like unsafe workplace layout. If the workplace contains various layout fault, such as sharp projection in corner areas, the increase in salary will not reduce this problem. For instance, in Tata motor's administrative building there were several leg cut incidents reported at the entrance point because of placement of steel table at the corner of the entrance area.

Secondly, author fails to address the education level of employees on workplace safety. Increase in salary will definitely put addition pressure on employer, but it won't help the company to improve the safety level until and unless the employers are aware of the possibility of accidents and how to avoid it.

Although as written the argument is categorically unconvincing, the author could have strengthen his position, were he to provide any statistical evidence of employers that force them to implement safety measures to save employment cost. However, without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning faulty.

To sum up, the author has presented an interesting but flawed argument that makes many questionable assumptions and ignores several key factors. Had the author incorporate all the factors mentioned above, the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands, however, the author's arguments is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.