A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The memorandum describes a plea from a movie director to the head of the movie studio. The producer mentions an elaborate justification for his demand of increased funding for the movie. However, on examining the argument, certain assumptions come to light, that if proven unwarranted, will invalidate the justification for the demand of increased funding. These assumptions and their implications are discussed below.

Firstly, the producer states how increasing the funding for his movie by ten percent will ensure a quality product. This an assumption as no one can guarantee whether the movie will be upto the mark. There can be a situation where even after increasing the funding, the movie fails to attract the audience and is criticised for being mediocre. Thus, to make the argument even more persuasive, the producer must present compelling reasons to convinve the studio head that the movie will be of the best quality and will not dissapoint.

Secondly, the author mentions the reason for the need of extra funding as working with a first time director. The author then mentions how the director has only shot shampoo commercials and since the advertising business is profligate and spends wastefully, the director will be prodigal too. This is an assumption that seems rather unwarranted. For instance, the director could be very economical and efficient. The director may finish every scene before time and infact save money. This assumption can have dire implications on the argument. The producer needs to prove that the director is wasteful and a perfectionist, who has no concern about the time each scene takes. Only then does the demand for increased funding make sense.

Thirdly, the producer mentions how relatively inexperienced crew has been hired in order to reduce the expenditure on salaries. These savings will be in turn utilised to pay the actors and the crew for the extra hours that they will spend. Here the producer again assumes that the movie will take extra time to be shot. This may not always be the case. For example, if the movie is a simple and short movie that only requires one set and few changes in the dynamic, then the shooting might take relatively lesser time than movies like action thrillers. This assumption needs to properly justified to truly convince the studio about the funding increase.

Furthermore, the memorandum assumes that the only way the movie will be a success is by getting the extra money. The producer assumes that the movie will be a sucess if they just get the funding. The movie studio might not want to invest more in a movie that has hired a callous director and crew. It is imperative for the producer to persuasively mention how despite the inexperienced crew and director, the movie will be a success and the money is the only thing preventing it from being a top quality film.

To conclude, the memorandum must provide reasons for each assumption and convince the studio that the extra funding is a neccessity. The producer must fill the gaps present in the argument in order to save the movie. The argument must prove that the director is wasteful and will spend extra time on each scene, thus increasing costs of the shooting. If these assumptions are proved, the argument will be reinforced and strengthened.