A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The memo written by the movie producer to the head of the movie studio showing his concern regarding the success of the movie directed by the first-time director might seem justified at first glance and all the concerns he talks about and states in the memo might seem valid at first, but after reading the memo with deep concentration and understanding it is very evident that the movie producer has missed out on a couple of things, has not answered some important questions and not provided sufficient data and information to back his claims. Some of the issues and flaws in the argument are as follows.

Firstly, the author states that just because the director has never directed a movie before, the only experience he has is of shooting commercials for a shampoo company. He will not be economical and spend money frivolously. The author cites a common generalization regarding the advertising business saying that they are known for being notorious and wasteful and merely assumes that the director would be the same. He hasn't provided any information to back his claim that just because the director shot a shampoo commercial, he will be wasteful. If the author would have provided with some data from the record of the shampoo commercial shot by the director which would prove that, yes the director is wasteful and would spend money frivolously. The author's claim would make sense but just by following the generalization is not enough, for all we know is that the director might be a miser.

Furthermore, the movie producer claims that the director is not absolutely sincere in his work, that the shoot takes after take and not value the time he is losing in shooting the same scene over and over again. It is absolutely possible that on the set of the movie the director will have to take multiple takes until he is satisfied. But there can be various reasons why the director might have to take so many takes such as he is not happy with the performance of the actors, there was some kind of technical difficulty, or possibly the lighting is not proper. Therefore, blaming the inexperienced director or the inexperienced support staff is not justified. The author should take into account all these extra factors which might possibly require the extra 10% in order to ensure a quality product.

Moving on, the author states that the money the studio has saved by hiring relatively inexperienced staff for the movie will undoubtedly translate to higher expenditure in paying the staff and support staff. There is absolutely no claim to back this kind of an assertion, the author has failed to provide any kind of support or data to back his claims. All of the assertions made by the author is merely based on the generalization of the advertising business and how they are so wasteful. If the author would have have provided with some kind of information stating that inexperienced staff is known for causing problems which would result in taking multiple retakes and spending the resources or they have done something like this in the past, there would be some kind of weightage in the author's claims. But the author has not provided any such thing to support his assertions.

In conclusion, the intent of the movie producer to save the movie from being a failure is a righteous one and it cannot be overlooked. But the lack of proper information and the inability to take into consideration all the factors rather than focusing on one assumption relating to the generalization of the advertising industry. Is the reason that the argument has no weightage and probably would not receive the addition 10% the author has requested.