A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Crime has been on the rise since the beginning of the decade. The underlying issue at hand is that crime has not been increasing in a linear manner, but it has been increasing in an exponential manner. The supreme court and the constitution provide each and every individual some form of basic rights. These rights are provided to save the citizen in times of need. But many people try to take undue advantage of these rights and try to cheat the court of law. I agree with the issue at hand which states that crime committed knowingly should be treated in a different manner than a crime committed unknowingly and the rights of the person should be held back.

Firstly, a person who is in full command of his senses and decides to or plans to commit some kind of a crime, however small it might be should not be allowed the basic civil rights, because he made the decision to commit a crime which in-turn could possibly harm someone or be unfair to someone, and a person who is willing to take an extra step to gain personal benefit at the cost of someone does not deserve the rights the constitution provides everyone with. For example, a person who decides to rob his neighbor so that he could use the money to live an extravagant lifestyle, knowing that his neighbor is not doing well financially. At this moment even after knowing the circumstances, the robber decides to go ahead with it just because so he could eat at a fancy place, go to popular places etc. Such a person should not have the right to hide behind the rights and should be punished.

Moreover, in many situations, crime committed can be considered to happen by chance or by mistake, in these conditions the person who committed the crime should have certain rights so that he can explain his side of the story and protect himself from being wrongfully charged with a crime he never intended to do. The rights which are provided to each of us are there so that each and every citizen has a chance to protect himself from wrongdoing or being charged with something he never did. For example, in the US it is a law that at the time of arrest the police officers have to read out the rights to the person being arrested so that even the person might use them to protect themselves. But similarly, if a person is found guilty of a crime which he committed knowing the consequence should be given these benefits. There should be some kind of a system where such people can be differentiated from the rest who were possibly forced to commit a crime or where in that situation unknowingly.

Many people might argue against this form of reasoning and state that the main reason that these civil rights are placed in the constitution is so that each and every citizen have some form of rights to protect them in time of need, and that these rights are not based on situations that in some kind of a situation they should be valid and in a different situation they should not be valid. Another reason that they might out forward is that who gets to decide whether the rights should be provided or not, moreover that this entire concept of someone be given the right to decide whether the person is entitled to his basic rights defies the entire concept of the rights. But the underlying issue is that there should be some kind of a system which can differentiate between people who commit a crime knowing that it would possibly cause harm to others and people who commit crime unknowingly. Such a system would really help reduce the rate at which crime has been increasing.

In conclusion, a system that would be capable to assess the crime committed and decide whether the rights should be provided to the criminal or not in case of the criminal willingly and knowingly committing a crime will really benefit everyone. Such criminals can be prosecuted easily if they were not given their rights because they committed the crime knowingly.