The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Space has been one of those things that intrigues the humans the most. Even the smallest aspect of the space can really get a group of scientists worked up on the excitement and since then mankind has been exorbitantly investing in space missions and research about the space. The article presented to the editor of national aeronautics magazine trying to present his opinion that more investment should be made in unmanned space mission rather than manned space mission might seem appealing and the correct approach but the lack of evidence to back this claim and gaps in the argument presented to the editor is not sufficient enough. Some of the flaws and gaps in the argument are as follows.

Firstly, the author states that manned space flight is very costly and dangerous which is true in some aspects such as obviously it takes a lot more money to put a man inside a rocket and send him to space as compared to just sending a rocket with robots installed to do all the work. But what the author misses out to mention that it is a costly affair to build robots which are needed to be fitted into the rocket to do all the tasks and the still after investing so much money into them there is absolutely no certainty on how will they function in space. The author does not provide any figures and estimates regarding the extra expense of putting a hum in the spacecraft. If he would have done so his argument would have been more compelling.

Secondly, the author cites the recent success of unmanned space missions and satellites and bases his conclusion on it. But the author forgets that the success and failure of a space mission is not just merely based on one factor, there are multiple factors which together decide the success and failure of a space mission. For example, the manned mission could have gone wrong because of some kind of technical fault rather than a human error or computational error, therefore just by citing one reason which just considers one factor is not accurate enough. The author needs to provide more evidence and more data to prove and support his claims.

Moving on, the author suggests that more money should be invested into the unmanned space flights rather than manned but he does not provide any other facts or evidence to back his claims. It is true that putting life inside a rocket and sending it into space can be very dangerous, but it has a positive side as well in many aspects a human is more reliable than a robot and if there is some problem which occurs which has not been put into the robot's software to solve the robot is helpless whereas in such a case a human which his ability to think and decipher problems as in when required given mankind an edge over robots. This important aspect is completely left out of the argument presented by the author.

In conclusion, the argument presented by the author to the editor of the national aeronautics magazine suggesting that unmanned mission should be preferred over manned mission and more money should be invested in the latter, would have a bigger impact if the author would have provided more data along with indisputable facts rather than some specious claims