A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The justice system is a very complex and byzantine domain. One cannot decide a universal punishment for all criminals and outlaws. Every crime differs from another and thus, every punishment must be different and relevant to the crime that has been committed.The issue suggests that a person who knowingly commits a crime should not be allowed to retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from their own labor. I disagree with this issue because I feel that a criminal's punishment must be decided based on the nature and degree of the crime they commit. Generalising a punishment for all types of criminals fails to understand the nuances that exist in the complex criminal justice system.

Civil rights and rights to benefit from labor are universal rights and no one must have the power to snatch these rights away from another human being. This is the whole reason a consitituion exists in most countries. Snatching civil rights from criminals is dehumanising them and belittling there existance as humans. Most criminals, must be given a punishment that teaches them instead of torturing them. However, some criminals do deserve the strictest punishment and must pay for their crimes in the harshest manner. Thus, every punishment must be appropriate from the crime committed. But, no one should have their civil rights taken away from them. For instance, a pauper who has no food, and just to survive steals a sandwich from a super market isn't the same as a serial killer. Both have committed the crime knowingly, but there exists a great degree of difference between them and they do not deserve the same punishment. According to the issue, the pauper should have his or her civil rights and labor benefits taken away, just because he or she tried to survive. This is unfair and inhumane. Similarly, a serial killer is a horrible human and has caused great pain to people, but the right punishment isn't to take his or her civil rights away. The serial killer, however egregious, must have all his rights to defend himself and all civil rights. The serial killer must be given the strictest punishement, but must not be dehumanised.

I believe that criminals must pay for their crimes, but in a way that they can learn and never commit the crime again. Jails should be rehabilitation centres instead of tourture hubs. Every criminal must be treated as a human and be taught to be responsible for their actions. If we dehumanise criminals by taking their rights away, we are not helping them or ourselves. Instead of teaching them, we are angering them and stripping them of their rights that define them as humans. This will have adverse effects on them and they will like commit another crime again. Anger and hatred will build up and cause them to commit a greater degree of crime.

Thus, I believe that a person who commits a crime, whatever the degree of the crime is, must be able to retain his or her civil rights or right to benefit from labor. The criminal must pay for the crime, but in a way that does not dehumanise him or her. Everybody deserves to have civil rights as that is what defines us as humans. We must teach instead of tortur