Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions including trends are the same for all areas, other factors are not contributing to the perceived outcomes and required activities equates to building habits. Concluding that Nature’s Way will be successful in Plainsville based on the prior stated assumptions is unreasonable.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support the healthy lifestyles by the citizens of Plainsville discussed in the argument. The author suggests that the idea of healthy lifestyles for everyone is the same. For example, the town of Plainsville could have 100% of individuals that suffer from anorexia and the recommendations from the health organization in Plainsville could include a diet of high fats and sugars. The residents of Plainsville could religiously follow the guidelines of recommendations set out by this organization and have a diet full of fats and sugars. But this diet cannot be seen as healthy for all areas. Imagine a nearby town that has a high obese population, the recommendations from the health organization of this town will be different than Plainsville. If the chain of stores subsumed by Nature’s Way does not sells products that are high in fats and sugars, then these stores will not show profit for the company. Because the author does not provide a definition for what is healthy for residents who live in Plainsville nor the type of “healthy” products sold by Nature’s Way, the argument is illogical. On the other hand, if the arguer provided evidence to show that the stores of Nature’s Way sell products that will surely appeal to the citizens of Plainsville, then the argument will deem to be more plausible. In either case, it cannot be guaranteed that most individuals will be willing to buy the products from a new company in compared to one that they have previously been going to.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine the products sold by the company do attract individuals that live in Plainsville and they are willing to buy from Nature’s Way, it is still baseless to conclude that the residents of Plainsville are healthy individuals. So, the author continues to speculate other elements are not playing a role in the seen results. For example, the author states that merchants in Plainsville reported the sale of running shoes and exercise clothing are the highest they have ever been. There is a possibility that the new fashion trend includes athletic attire and the people of Plainsville are buying running shoes and exercise clothing not because they are partaking in physical activity but because they want to follow fashion trends. Moreover, the arguer implies that because more exercise shoes and clothing are being sold, so more individuals are working out. But ignores the fact that people find these products comfortable and that could be the distinctive reason for residents buying these products. However, if the argument shed light on the physical activity level of every resident of Plainsville and the results showed that citizens of Plainsville are the most activity people on the plantet, the argument would hold more validity. But even so, it cannot be surely stated that people are taking part in physical activities or justing buying these products for comfort.

Lastly, the author implies that mandatory requirements for children will allow them to build healthy habits. Children in school in Plainsville are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, but this does not mean they will engage in a healthy lifestyle or other physical activities. For instance, a child may eat only fats and the only form of physical activity they may take part in is the fitness-for-life program. If this program is a one hour class that is held once a week, this is not a sufficient amount of activity for the fat that is being consumed. This lifestyle cannot be considered healthy for all. Thereby, this statement is undermining the argument.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to believe Nature’s Way will be successful in Plainsville.