“Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainville is such an area. Plainville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainville’s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.”

Although authors arguments suggest that Nature’s way franchise at Plainville is going to be a successful investment but by considering these few points only predicting overall success doesn’t reflect wise judgment. And author must consider few more possibilities and should pay heed to another side of the coin also.

As author mentions that Plainville is the area where residents lead healthy lives, may be this will encourage some of the health conscious there to buy a new product from nature’s way but how could author say that almost everyone at there is going to buy a product from them. Since the residents are already leading the healthy life with their own conventional methods or by using similar products from another brand why will they switch to nature’s way this reason is not made clear by the author so this can be a flaw in the author’s prediction.

Moreover, the author considered the reports from Plainville’s merchant about sales of running shoes and exercise clothing but here this cannot be inferred that people will also prefer health food and other health-related products. For sure exercise and running is practiced there but might be possible that people rely on natural food or homemade product and moreover it’s not deniable that usually, people are reluctant to artificial food products. Until they are prescribed by some physician. So author must take this point into consideration.

Here author also mentions about members of the health club and aerobics classes. Usually, these classes work on the physical workout. And members in case take some supplements it is suggested by their trainers. As author didn’t mention that trainers at the club are endorsing their product how will this improve the sale?

At last targeting kids is not correct as kids are repositories of energy and don’t need any health related product in the general case. And in case some kids are weak their parents first consult to the nutrition expert and will prefer a product that is recommended by an expert. So author’s aim to target kids as the potential customer is futile.

Overall, all the arguments made by the author have flaws this suggests that author must recheck his plans about new franchises at Plainville. And should improve their marketing strategy to ensure favorable sales of their product.