Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's argument that Nature's way will be successful in Plainsville may seem plausible at first glance but it rests upon few unwarranted assumptions. It is rife with flaws that needs further analysis.

Firstly, the claim that Nature's way is more profitable in the areas where residents lead healthy life is questionable. If the validity of that claim rests upon a survey or a questionnaire then the authenticity of those should be checked. The type of questions asked, the number of people interviewed and their view on healthier life style etc… These data are needed for checking the reliability if the survey. For example, if only 2 or 3 towns participated in the survey or only healthy people were interviewed then it will be skewed and severely undermine the claim.

Secondly, correlating the high sales of running shoes and exercise clothing to the success of Nature's Way seems very vague. For example, the people of Plainsville may believe that for a healthier life exercise alone is sufficient and may not give much importance to healthy food in which case the profit of Nature's way will be affected as they focus on food. It is also possible that the City has many sports academies and athletes who buy sports merchandise form the merchants. Thus only small percentage of the population will be buying large number of goods which will weaken the argument.

Thirdly, the number of members at local health club may not directly be proportional to people who are health conscious. They may gather in the name of 'Club' to socialize or may discuss and plan a way for healthier lifestyle which they may not follow. The activities going on in the club is not clearly mentioned thus no conclusions can be made regarding their involvement in healthier lifestyle.

Lastly, the claim that school children of Plainsville will be potential customers because the school focuses on the fitness program is also questionable. For example the school may place a special emphasis on exercises and athletic activity and not healthy eating. This may do no good to Nature's way sales of health products. Also, it is highly unlikely for school kids to follow strict diet involving health related products.

Thus, in summary, because of the aforementioned points, the author should reconsider the claim and buttress his/her points with more data and careful analysis. Had he reviewed there considerations he/she could have strengthened the argument.