Nature\'s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature\'s Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville\'s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the preceeding argument, the author states that the new store of Nature\'s Way in the town of Plainsville would be a success, adducing the enthusiasm for health of local residents and potential customers. The analysis may seem to be quite plausible at first glance; however, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of unstated assumptions, which could undermine the valuation of the argument.

To begin with, the success of Nature\'s Way franchises in other areas does not guarantee the same outcome in Plainsville. Although residents there lead a healthy life and are likely to spend more on health-related products; it is not clear, nonetheless, whether the market environment are advantageous for the new franchises. The assumption here is that market in Plainsville is the same as other places. This is over-optimistic because there is a possibility that the market in Plansville has already been oppupied by other stores offering similar products. If this were the case, it would be really difficult for Nature\'s way to win customers.

Secondly, the prediction made in the argument is based on reports from local merchants, but we do not know whether there acountings are reliable or not. The sales of running shoes and exercise clothing does not necessarily mean that customers would choose Nature\'s Way as well. Their decisions are swayed by a number of factors, product qualities and prices being top of them. It is not likely that most health-related products sold in Plainsville are of cheap prices compared to Nature\'s Way, making them much more attractive and competitive. Before figuring out these questions, it would be too reckless for the author to say that the success of other merchants indicates the same for Nature\'s Way franchise.

Last but not least, targeting schoolchildren in Plainsville may be much less lucrative than it seems to be. The author substantiates his or her argument by asserting that the fitness-for-life program is compulsory to every student. But this may not be profitable for the new franchise. Firstly, as the exercise program is required, many of the students might already own their clothing and equipments, and not want buy new ones. What is more, products specifically designed for youngsters are expected for the franchise to attract more customers, if they show any interests. But we do not know whether Nature\'s Way offer this kind of products or not at all.

In conclusion, while it may be true that the new franchise is highly likely to succeed in an area where people\'s passion for exercise and health are said to be high, the argument by the author are rife with assumptions and holes. Without truly considering and investigating all the related issues instead of relying on intuitive assumptions and thoughts, the chances are that the new franchise of Nature\'s Way would not be as profitable as imagined.