Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

The argument concludes that the profit of a new store of Nature's Way will be high in the town of Plainsville. To justify the argument, the author points out the fact that people in the town are healthy and sells of the store will be high in a healthy region. Moreover, the author represents the report of the town's merchants who are selling sports clothes and shoes. Also, the argument predicts that sells of health products will boom as school children of the town are required to participate in the school’s fitness program. However, the argument seems less compelling as the author makes several unfounded assumptions and a weak survey that hamper the reader's ability to believe the conclusion.

Firstly, the author claims that the new store will have high sells in a healthy area like Plainsville. This argument seems not reasonable because sells of health products and food should be higher in a region where people are not healthy. It appears logical that people of Plainville are healthy because they are already consuming healthy food and health-related products. So, they will resist buying health products from a completely new store. In short, they will rely on what they are already consuming and the food they follow in their daily routine.

Secondly, the author assumes that sell of the health products of Natures's Way will be huge as the town's merchants manifest in their report that sells of their sports shoes and clothes are high in the town and future sell will increase. Although sells of sports products are high in the town it is possible that sells of health products which are a different product will not be enormous. This is because the author does not relate sells of heath products and sells of sports products. Since health food and sports products are different types of products the survey seems illogical.

Finally, the author mentions that the new franchise will be successful as school children of the town are required to participate in a fitness program of the school. Hence, the author predicts that they will buy healthy food and health products from the new store as schools emphasize on the regular exercise of students. However, the fact that people of the town are already healthy counters this argument. If people are satisfied with their regular food habits then why would they change their habit and experiment on new health food from a completely new store of the town?

In a nutshell, the argument contains many unsupported assumptions. If the author were to provide more support for his unproved assumptions and better represent the survey then the argument would be more believable.