In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.

In the above argument author states that in order to generate more profit without jeopradizing the reputation of the store they should start closing there store early and eliminate some of its stocks. Though this seems to pretty convincing when we put all the points given in the argument together, analzing them seperately somewhere doesn't seem to be that strong and helpful.

Firslty, to drive out to any conclusion we need a strong statistical data to study from which is missing in this argument.

Nowhere in this argument is the credibilty for the points that there is a profit increase in downtown, decrease in operating expenses by closing early and reducing stock supported is undermined because of its absence. It is mentioned that the store is famous for its rental prices and raising them is not a viable way. There is no convincing statistical data which could prove the credibilty that raising the rental prices would deteriote there reputation there is a high chance that the prices they currently provide are still not competitive enough with other stores in the market and raising them will not have have that much effect on its customer. A survey should be done in order to understand the impace of this, straight away drawing a conclusion isn't a good way to deal with.

As a solution to this problem they think of closing the store early like they did in downtown Marston, a scenario can be considered here that the store there didn't have much of its customer coming to but the video in those particular therefore, closing the store early worked out to be a good option for them. Applying this here might prove out to be disastorous as we are not aware whether the customers in this store visit during those ours it can happen that apart from whole day the sales are best during the time from 6 to 9 and closing down the store in these hours will further prove out to be a loss for them.

Besides this the store in downtown also eliminated there collection for the movies released more than five year ago, this further weaken the conclusion that these might turn out to be fruitful. It can be thought that people visiting the store there are more interested in the new collection and people in this store are more interested in the old ones rather than new because a person buys a video for that movie which he or she loves or the ones that he can't watch on the TV and in today's date most of the new movies are available on TV and it is the old ones people search for. Further there is no data to classify the type of movies people are interested in.

It can be concluded that this argument is not correcly reasoneda and the result that author draws is flimsy where the points supporting it are not strong enough to put that in effect. The logical conclusion could be to come up with a another ways to increase the profit, if not then carefully examining the ones that author aims to apply. Additionally the evidence presented in the argument weakens its credibility as author does't cite a source to verify its validity. If an argument addresses all the above mentioned issues it would more stronger than the one given.