"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The store owner has decided to open up a store in Plainsville based on the experience from stores in other areas, increased sales in health equipments, rise in membership in Health clubs and an expected increase in customers looking at compulsory participation in a fitness program. While the evidence used in support the argument maybe true, it does not make a cogent case for opening up a store.

The experience of opening and runnings successfully store in another where the residents were highly concerned leading a healthy life cannot be superimposed onto another area. Although, it might be the case that the people of Plainsville have become more health conscious, there are other factors that may determine their purchasing habits. The evidence presented does not compares the socio-economic and political situation of the two areas. What if, the people of Plainsville are economically poorer that other areas? In such a scenario it would be risky to open up a store there as there would be less profit. The author must present specific evidence that posits argument that both the town are comparable and hence the experience from running store in once town can be used in other.

The author mentions that there is an all-time high in sales of sports shoes and exercise equipments. Along with that, the local health club, weight-training and aerobics classes have seen more members than before. This argument does not provide any clarity. What does the all-time high mean in terms of sales? What do we understand by increased participation and full classes? Considering that five years back the scenario was so bad that local health club was going to close down, a meagre number of members would seem to be a big change. The author does not mention the class size, it could be anywhere from 5 to 50 members per class. And if it is the former, then having a full class does not mean that the business is booming in the area. However, if the author is able to provide evidence that shows that compared to last few years a significant increase is seen in the participation of the people then the evidence would support the decision to open the store.

Furthermore, the assumption is made based on the information that school children who are now being made to participate in a fitness program may become customers of the store in the future. However, there is no evidence that supports this claim of the author. While it might turn out to be true but there is a possibility that the children may not use the service of this store in the future. What if, looking at the similar opportunity another store opens up in the area? A better evidence would be to ask the children directly f they would be interested in taking the services of such a store in future. The present assumption, without any supporting facts is jejune and nugatory in arriving at any decision.

The idea to open a store in Plainsville, a town which is seeing increased interest in fitness of the people seems good. However, the paucity of supporting arguments makes it ambiguous to decide whether this increased interest would be able to help run the store profitably. The author's present arguments do not support the decision to open the store.