"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of argument presented here has stated that in order to increase the profit made by classical shakespeare theatre production, they need to attract more people by implementing the program, which was proven successful for other company. The assertion and recommendation made by author fails to answer the question about the similarity of the “shakespeare in the Park” program with the “Free plays in the Park” program and unwarranted assumption made by author that in spite of increased advertising, profit have not increased for the company.

First of all, the recommendation is based on the assumption that “shakespeare in the Park” program will have the similar results as “Free plays in the Park”. is it possible that both the program despite the similarities may fail to produce desired results? it is certainly possible, considering that people who have lost interest in the shakespeare theatre production might not be attracted by the concept of the program. also, Avon Repertory company might have entirely different viewers as compared to The shakespeare theatre production. The author does assume that the program launched two years before will continue to have the similar results in future. may be the strategies used by the program in past might not be effectual in future.

Furthermore, the author has based the recommendation based on the assertion that despite that increase in advertisement, they were not able to lure more people to view their show, which has resulted in decreased profit for company significantly. The question that needs to be asked about the assertion is that on what basis the author has assumed that increased advertisement is linked to profitability of company. it may be possible that increased advertisement might have gained few more viewer, but the decrease in profitability of company is may be due to more budget in advertising and other possible losses. also, how much significantly the profit has been reduced. For all we know, significantly might mean 1% of previous year profit or 99% of previous year profit. it should be clearified by added that amount or percentage reduction in profit.

To sum up, the author’s recommendation to attract more people by implementing the said program might not hold true, as it is based on the assumption of similarity analogy about the program and unwarranted assumption about the advertisement