"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Every industry is facing ever-increasingly competitive in modern time, and some companies thus confront declining profit and fewer and fewer clients. The Classical Shakespeare Theatre(CST) is the case. To revert this tendency, the marketing director suggests that CST should start a Skakespeare in the Park program, imitating the practice of the nearby Avon Repertory Company, which has increased 10 percent profits by implementing a Free Plays in the Park program. But the information offered by the market director is insufficient for CST to achieve the similar effect unless more crucial questions can be answered.

Above all, there has been a 20 percent decline in the number of the average audience at CST over the past ten years. Does it mean that the revenue and profit definitely decline at the theatre? Perhaps the revenue and profit from these audiences contributes little to the total performance of the theatre, and conversely the decrease of these audiences will lift the theatre out of loss, greatly reducing the operating cost of the theatre. Another possibility is that the theatre has been seeking for transformation, leading to the reduction of the number of the audiences, who dislike the new programs provided. Make sure whether the declination size of the average audience in the past ten years has caused the falling profits.

The input of advertisement has not brought rising growth of audiences, but descending ones and profit. May this be the fault of advertisement itself? It wrongly has positioned the target market, has chosen the advertising channel, and has designed the contents, seriously deviating from the market orientation of CST, which naturally cannot attract the audiences except for outlaying a lot of advertising expense. Correct the advertisement to the market positioning in the line with the interests of CST.

Reversion to the abovementioned situations is, as the director advocates, to institute a Shakespeare in the Park program this summer, the best means to increase profit, just as the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a Free Plays in the Park program two years ago, having obtained a good effect. Are the two programs the same in the contents? Perhaps audiences enjoy the Free Plays in the Park, but reject the Shakespeare in the Park, which will waste the money of CST instead of producing revenue. Moreover, this program started two years ago, and so the nearby Avon Repertory Company has gotten a breadth of customer groups due to the success of the program the 'Free Plays in the Park', making CST difficult to enter the market. Do an objective and impartial market research to ensure the feasibility of starting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program.

Even if CST starts a Shakespeare in the Park program, it does not guarantee its profits will augment as much as Avon Repertory Company has achieved an raise of 10 percent profit after having started a Free Plays in the Park, because CST may invest large amounts of physical and human resources but gain less revenues, resulting in a loss or a slight surplus, far from the growth of 10 percent profit. Furthermore, provided that CST have accomplished developing plural business from the past simple mode, the profits may well come from other incomes, not from the Shakespeare in the Park. Don't be unduly optimistic about the new program in today's changing market.

In a nutshell, unclear about the difference of both theaters, it is risky for CST to imitate the practice of Avon Repertory Company. So the recommendation from the market director may be unfeasible unless the aforementioned questions can be answered from impartial, objective perspective.