Arctic deer live on islands in Canada’s arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The article claims that recent global warming results in the decline of the arctic deer populations on islands in Canada’s arctic regions, only based on both the melting of sea ice owing to the warm climate and the local hunters’ statements. Obviously, the assertion lacks of scientific evidences.

To begin with, it may be a mistake to understand that the reports on the decline of the deer populations coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt. Maybe, the deer populations declined many years ago, while the global warming has just happened in recent years. It needs to be ascertained by the authorities whether both phenomena happened concurrently. In addition, though these things occur at the same time, it doesn’t explain that the global warming leads to the falling deer populations. There may be various reasons to bring about the phenomenon that the deer populations are declining. For example, the overdue hunting in the deer habitat results in the decrease of deer populations and maybe this is where the rub is.

Another question is that the global warming causes the sea ice over which the deer travel to melt, but is beneficial for the plants on which deer feed to grow. It indicates that there will be more plants for the deer to sustain. Though the deer can’t look for their food on other islands separating by the sea, there may be adequate plants around their habitat for them to survive. Furthermore, the global warming causes the melting of the sea ice, but, in some of the year, the islands in Canada’s arctic regions, where the arctic deer live on, are cold enough for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Therefore, the deer can travel longer distance to hunt for food during the period of sea ice. More information is needed to confirm whether the declining deer populations are subject to the deficiency of food.

In addition, one mustn’t forget the report from the local hunters who say that the deer populations are declining. Are their reports believable? As is known, the hunters make their livings by hunting. Most probably, the deer suffer from their undue hunting and become less and less. On the other hand, the downward trend of the deer populations should be confirmed by wildlife biologists, who come to the conclusion by investigating the deer habitat in Canada’s arctic regions. Another possibility is that the hunters indeed give the fact that the deer is declining, but the reasons may be the fatal decease that happened to the deer, or human beings develop the areas on where arctic deer live in order to tap certain kind of natural resources.

To sum up, the conclusion given in the article is weak. To ascertain the decline of arctic deer populations, the writer needs to provide more evidences of which are from either the investigation into the areas where the arctic deer live on by the wildlife biologists, or the true effects of the global warming on the deer habitat.