Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of 039 sidewalk rage 039 similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The result is an increase in assaults property damage

The author concludes that sidewalk rage leads to increase in assault and property damage. However he give no reasoning for this. This conclusion needs to be supported with more evidence. Interviewing people involved in such incidents should shed more light on its cause. For example it is possible that a particular area experinces high pedestrian traffic during lunch hours. The restuarants are located far away from the offices and people are in a hurry to finish their lunch and get back to work. If this is true banning of cell phone usage will have no impact.

The author reasons that the sidewalk rage is caused by slow traffic movement and people bumbing into things. If this is the case this sidewalk rage should be seen in places where slow traffic is experienced in the absence of cell phones, for example crowded strests or events. cell phones can be one of the reson in slowing down the traffic but this conclusion needs to be supported with data and also it needs to be shown that cell phones are one of the major reason slowing down the traffic. As seen in the lunch time example above there are other reasons possible for a crowd.

One of the problems with the idea of banning cell phone is how to enforce the ban. This will most likely be done by monitoring the traffic either using cameras or deploying offices of the street. If this is true the example fo Middletown can fail. Middletown did report reduced incidents since the ban on cell phones but if it is using any kind of monitoring solutions to enforce the ban it is possible that people are better behaved and avoid such incidents knowing that they are being watched. No driver goes into a rage and causes damage infront of an officer.