Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

It has been theorized that the high number of skateboarders have led to the reduction in business in Central Plaza. Also, a few observations supporting this deduction have been presented. However, there are a few shortcomings in this theory which need to be addressed.

Firstly, there is no strong correlation between the increase in skateboarders leading to decrease in shoppers. It is possible that the demographic of the population of the region has changed over the period of time. Maybe, the number of teenagers and young adults have increased. They may indulge in recreational activities such as skateboarding. Thus, no inference can be drawn in this matter.

Also, the fact that litter and vandalism is caused by skateboarders is not an entirely valid presumption. There may be altogether different causes for that. For example, ruffians and thugs can indulge in random acts of destruction. The litter is caused due to improper waste management, which has been overlooked by the survey. Thus, skateboarders cannot be held responsible for these causes.

Lastly, it is incorrect to assume that the sales of Central Plaza will return to previous levels. Conditions change with times. For instance, the quality of goods in Central Plaza is not as it used to be; the prices may have skyrocketed. The prohibition of skateboarders cannot remedy that.

Therefore, I believe that stopping skateboarders from coming at the plaza is not justified, and will not necessarily result in increase in the number of shoppers.