A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

The theory that an individual’s levels of stimulation are related to the order of birth has several unwarranted fallacies.

The proposed explanation takes the help of a study, in which several stimulating situations are presented before the subjects. Then the level of the hormone cortisol produced is tested. However, it is not stated what caused the production of cortisol in the first place. It is possible that age has a role to play, which is why the younger sibling is unable to create the hormones. There may be other factors present, such as earlier experiences. A more thorough survey is required to get to a concrete conclusion.

The author also mentions stimulating situations, which lead to the production of the hormone. However, he does not make it quite clear what may be defined as a ‘stimulating situation’. We are given two examples but it is not specified whether the study was limited to only these two situations. Another factor is that the author talks about humans as well as monkeys in this situation. It would be quite silly, however, to compare both cases. For example, the effect of cortisol on humans and monkeys may be vastly different.

Finally, the argument presents the fact that the level of cortisol in first-time mother monkeys is more than mothers who have had offspring in the past. But this does not directly imply that the theory is true. One possible explanation is that first-time mothers may be more anxious than mothers with previous experience of giving birth, thus producing higher levels of cortisol.

Therefore, the conclusion that an individual’s levels of stimulation are related to the order of birth is based on several faulty assumptions and may not be considered as completely correct.