The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

The author asserts that birth order has an effect on hormonal stress response. In the letter, the author presents that firstborn Rhesus monkeys are associated with twice the level of cortisol when encountering unfamiliar stimuli, that first time Rhesus mothers are associated with elevated cortisol than more experienced mothers, and that stimulated firstborn humans are also associated with elevated cortisol levels compared to younger siblings.

First, the author claims to be examining the effect of birth order on cortisol level, but confounds the effect of social experience and biological birth order. In the presented evidence, it is suggested that first time Rhesus mothers exhibit elevated stress in response to pregnancy compared to more experienced mothers. Birth order is not a factor in this particular case. Rather, it follows that inexperienced mothers are more distressed by the experience of pregnancy than more experienced ones.

One possible explanation is that inexperienced mothers are more likely to exhibits higher levels of cortisol and affect their unborn offspring's tolerance and regulation of their own cortisol level. During a first time pregnancy, the offspring is exposed to greater levels of stress and conditions an elevated stress response later in life. Whereas as the mother becomes more experienced with pregnancy her cortisol levels become more regulated and the effect is reduced.

Another possible explanation is that, behaviorally, unfamiliar situations regardless of birth order are greater stressors to inexperienced subjects--Rhesus monkey and human alike. That is, firstborn siblings have limited interaction with other social agents and are therefore experience a greater level of stress. In contrast, because younger siblings have older siblings to model behavior, they have access to a greater behavioral and social repertoire and find it easier to cope by having exposure to more models of behavior.