Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

According to the author Nature's Way is expected to be profitable and successful in Plainsville due to the healthy lifestyles of its residents and their consumption of health products. The presented argument is based on several key assumptions about the nature of the evidence and the resulting conclusions are fallacious. Said assumptions and their respective resultions and suggestions are discussed below.

First, the author assumes that the success of Nature's Way is predicted by the correlation of the lifestyles of the residents, but fails to recognize alternative possible explanations for the association of healthy resident lifestyles with the success of Nature's Way. Perhaps residential areas with healthy lifestyles are also highly correlated with income. If this is the case it is possible that the most important factor in Nature's Way's success is actually in income levels of potential consumers.

Second, the author reports that local merchants' sales of shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs and that this suggests that the same demand for Nature's Way products can be expected for its products. However, it is important to consider that there are fundamental differences in the perception and demand of Nature's Way products compared to their own. It is possible that the successful local merchants are smaller operations and preferred by the locals and that Nature's Way, as a chain, will not be perceived positively by potential consumers.

Third, the author erroneously extrapolates that schoolchildren will become dependable and regular consumers of Nature's Way products due to their mandated fitness-for-life program. However, it is possible that the schoolchildren and their parents purchase their equipment elsewhere and see no need to change their loyalty to another store. Additionally, this assumes that the program will remain in place for a long period of time, but fails to recognize any potential changes in the funding and renewal of said program.

In order to ensure the financial success of Nature's Way several recommendations are offered. More data are needed to differentiate likely shoppers from unlikely one's. Data should address differences in socioeconomic status, age, and gender, among other things. This will ensure that the conclusions drawn about the success of other Nature's Way stores is applicable to the Plainsville case. Survey methods could be used to address the potential attraction factors of Nature's Way and resources should be allocated to marketing projects. Nature's Way should more effectively collaborate with the schools to learn about their students' needs and how to best meet them. Nature's way should also compare the products of extant Plainsville merchants and their own in order to effectively compete and reach their target market.

In conclusion, the prospect of Nature's Way's success is uncertain with the given report. More representative demographic and socioeconomic data are needed to establish a causal link between Nature's Way profit and the lifestyles of their consumers.