The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than i

According to Super Screen movies, viewership is declining over the past year, but positive reviews are becoming increasingly common. It is the belief of the company's advertising director that this issue is a result of sparse advertising and a lack of public awareness on the availability of its movies. In the memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company there are several assertions and logically negligent claims presented.

A decline in viewership is not directly indicative or correlated with a lack of advertising. This claim neglects social paradigm shifts which affect the entire movie production industry, namely the rapid innovation and expansion of streaming service platforms. Across the board, going to the movies has become a thing of the past. Movie viewers are increasingly taking advantage of online services and other platforms to watch movies that once required a trip to a theater. This suggests that movie watchers are still engaging with and reviewing the content produced by Super Screen just not in theaters. It is recommended that the production company examines these social paradigm shifts and adjusts the proportion of movies available to theaters for showing.

The memo fails to indicate the magnitude of the difference in positive reviews. Given that the percentage of positive reviews increased, it is necessary to know by what amount. For example, this amount may be negligible and lack correlation to attendance. The memo offers no details about the origins of the positive reviews and the methodologies used to collect and measure them. Generally, with movie review websites there is no effective litmus test to determine if the account holder has actually seen the movie. Thus, it is possible for anyone with the requisite account to produce a review regardless of actual knowledge and engagement with content.

It is also assumed that the public is unaware of the availability of Super Screen movies. The memo provides no support for such a claim. In order to measure the accuracy of this claim, further research is needed. For example, surveys can address the level of awareness of Super Screen movie availability and the efficacy of existing advertising campaigns.

Given that there is no solid correlational basis between attendance and movie reviews, due to the availability on other platforms, the dependency on an honor system for the collection of movie reviews, and the lack of survey day concering the efficacy of extant advertising campaigns, there is no strong evidence to support the expansion of the advertising budger. Futher research is necessary to address such claims, and a more robust system of reviewing and rating movies is needed to support such claims made by the advertising director of Super Screen.