Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serveWrite a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasonin

Government officials are granted positions of power on the premise that they will serve their community. Given that a government official is expected to meet the needs of a diverse community with a wide array of interests, it is not practical for him or her to neglect his her own reasoning and judgment. Government officials should rely on his or her judgment in tandem with the best interests of his or her constituency.

In many cases, such as in a representative democracy, government officials are elected to serve and represent and execute the policies and protect the interests of their constituents. The authority afforded to government officials is defined by the social contracts of experience and judgment. To negate a fundamental expectation of this contract will produce ineffective leadership and lackluster political outcomes. Such a proposal also neglects the expectations of the governed that their leaders be seasoned communicators, negotiators, and innovators.

A government official who unquestioningly and inscrutably follows the wishes of his or her constituents, cannot be an effective one. In many cases, the masses do not have access to the resources and information to make fully-informed decisions about political issues. Additionally, the will of the people changes rapidly and unpredictably, at times. Therefore, it becomes the responsibility for a public servant to faithfully execute the role that they have been entrusted with judiciously and carefully.

If a government official does not exercise his or her judgment, then it creates a vacuum of power and a culture of indecisiveness. Countries, states, and other forms of organizations cannot survive without some form of a hierarchy of ideas and their execution. Without a judicious leader, social conflict and differences will be exacerbated and polarized. This vacuum of power lends itself to political, social, and economic instabilities that have far-reaching implications.

Government officials are required by law to be of a certain age, demonstrate the strength of his or her character, be decisive and judicious in the offices that they hold. These expectations are in place on the basis of a social contract government officials will perform beneficial work their communities. He or she or she should recognize the limitations in his or her own judgment, limitations of his or her constituents, and serve to complement them in an effective and expedient manner. A government official who overvalues the popularity and broad acceptance of his or her constituents cannot effectively lead and produce desired outcomes.