The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The greatness of individuals is an attribute that is extremely sensitive to the passage of time. Attributing greatness to a historical figure is an entirely subjective act. The victors and successors do not make the original attribution, but they are tasked with its maintenance and its acceptance. Throughout history, once great individuals become known as morally corrupt ones and debase one. Therefore, the greatness of individuals is not something cross-sectional. That is, greatness is not attributed at a single point in time and held true for eternity; it is constantly reevaluated by each passing generation and held up against the existing moral and cultural values of the time. It is often the case that our historical figures are found to have moral flaws that are incompatible with current values.

Thomas Jefferson is a great figure in American history. His statesmanship proved invaluable to directing the diplomatic and social directions of the United States. However, his greatness was much more easily accepted by his contemporaries than by his modern successors. Despite all of his achievements, he should also be regarded as a staunch advocate of the institution of slavery. His seminal work, Notes on the State of Virginia served to become a prime educational tool to masses of Virginia about the justification of American chattel slavery. Jefferson's contributions to slavery only became morally debase and challenged the greatness of his character hundreds of years ex post facto. As morals changed over time, society's view of greatness underwent great paradigm shifts. Regardless, Jefferson is regarded as a great figure throughout all of history, but the reasons for which his attributed greatness have changed dramatically.

Abraham Lincoln--former president and signer of the Emancipation Proclamation--is often credited with freeing the slaves. However, it should be noted that he had little care for the victims of American chattel slavery. He held a disjoint view--a public and a private opinion--of the issue. His indifference to the fate of enslaved populations certainly modifies how is greatness is viewed. Regardless of his motivations, his actions were aligned with maintaining the union of the United States and preventing its fracture.

Beyond the realm of government and statesmanship, there are countless examples of artists, scientists, and innovators who are recognized only after great social paradigm shifts. Ada Lovelace made enormous contributions to the field of computer science, but was only recognized after the development of feminism; her contemporaries did not see her as having much value. Her greatness only became attributed long after her time.

In conclusion, it is more conducive to look at how the greatness of individuals changes a function of time. If greatness is viewed as a cross-sectional attribute, we will become blind to historical cultural values and insights. It should be seen as an attribute that needs constant reevaluation.