In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The author presents an argument that Prunty County should emulate the road improvement projects of Butler county in order to improve highway safety and reduce the number of accidents. It is also known that Prunty County attempted to address the problem by reducing the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour and it did not decrease the number of accidents. In contrast, in Butler County, road improvement projects were associated with a 25 percent reduction in the number of accidents as the speed limit remained fixed at 55 miles per hour. The presented argument rests on incomplete data and fallacious assumptions. The erroneous nature of this argument, alternative explanations for the given observations, and resolutions will be discussed below.

First, the author makes a major assumption that the demographics, infrastructure, and the climate of Prunty County and Butler County are similar enough to warrant generalization. It is assumed that the success of the reduction. The author presents evidence that Butler County reduced the number of accidents by 25 percent after improving roads and resurfacing highways, among other things. However, it is possible that the road conditions in Prunty County are not in need of repair or improvement and are not the cause of the failure in reducing the number of accidents. If Prunty and Butler County are not directly comparable, then drawing a common conclusion about the causes of their accidents is not conducive. For example, the drivers in Prunty County may differ greatly in terms of socioeconomic status, behavior, and lifestyle. If this is the case, then addressing the roads and the infrastructure will not address the issue.

Second, the author fails to provide quantitative data about the number of accidents and what their causes were. The nature of the accidents is addressed in a cursory and incomplete manner. It is stated that the number of accidents did not decrease with the speed limit reduction, but if the number increased is not addressed. If in fact, the number of accidents increased, it may be because the population of Prunty County is growing and that with more drivers, accidents become more probable. The author does address that police have reported drivers exceeding the speed limit but does not provide strong enough evidence that the speeding was the direct cause of accidents.

Several recommendations are recommended to more effectively identify the failure of the speed limit reduction initiative in Prunty County. Data from more counties with similar characteristics to Prunty County are needed to address the efficacy of speed limit reduction on highway safety. Prunty County highway patrol should collaborate and offer more detailed data about the nature of the speeding incidents and the degree of severity. General population growth and loss should be considered by the author in order to separate the effect of accidents due to changes in road policies and general population growth and loss.