"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

in the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, the author concludes that limiting moped rentals during the summer will reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The main support the author provides for this conclusion is a case study of a neighboring island where a 50 percent reduction in accidents was achieved after implementing similar regulations. There are several logical weaknesses in the presented argument which this essay will examine.

First, the author is making the assumption that saturating the roads with mopeds is the only cause of these accidents. The assumption is that mopeds are culpable for these accidents and that the solution is to limit their presence on the island. However, it should also be noted that as the number of tourists (moped riding and pedestrians) rises, the global probability of accidents regardless of the involved vehicle may also rise. That is, due to the rise in population accidents are more likely. In order for this action of limiting mopeds to be effective, it should be determined which vehicles are most likely to be involved in accidents. For example, if motorcycles are involved in the majority of accidents, limiting their presence on the island may be more effective. The author has not established any direct evidence implicating solely mopeds.

Second, the author fails to recognize their flawed assumption of generalizability between Seaville and Balmer island. The only support offered for using this case study is that Seaville is nearby. However, the author fails to address any significant differences in infrastructure or geography that can speak to the successful reduction of accidents due to the implementation of moped limits. It may be that moped account for a greater proportion of accidents on Seaville than on Balmer and limitation was a successful strategy as a result. The author needs to develop a stronger set of case studies with islands that are minimally different from Balmer island in order for generalizability to be applicable.

In conclusion, the author needs to establish a set of evidence that directly implicates the moped as the cause of the accidents and present a set of case studies that demonstrate successful reduction in moped and pedestrian accidents in a similar environment to Balmer island.