The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia."Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, f

According to the author, an increase in the commercial use of salicylates--a chemical cousin of aspirin--is steadily correlated with a reduction in the number of headaches reported by Mentia residents. The author, then, extrapolates that increased use and availability of salicylates found in food items will reduce the incidence of reported headaches further. There are several assumptions made by the author that render this argument fallacious and several key pieces of evidence lacking that would improve its viability. These assumptions, alternative explanations about the presented results, and future directions are discussed below.

First, the author makes the assumption that the residents of Mentia are actively consuming the products containing the salicylates. There is no evidence to suggest that the residents of Mentia are consuming the foods in question. Additionally, it is stated that salicylates are also available in a variety of foods naturally and can be obtained that way. Therefore, if the origin of the salicylates is not known, then a conclusion cannot be drawn about their efficacy.

Second, the author presents that salicylates are chemically similar to aspirin which is known to be an effective treatment for headaches. Assuming that the residents of Mentia are consuming the foods with salicylate preservatives, there are still biochemical mechanisms to be examined. The underlying assumption is that the aspirin used to treat headaches exhibits the same qualities of bioavailability, absorption, and metabolisis as that found in the commercially processed food preservatives. If there are differences the ways that the aspirin and the salicylates are processed by the body, then comparing their efficacy on headaches is not conducive.

Third, the author fallaciously presents self-report data about the number of headaches reported by Mentia. No data about changes in the population are given. It is important to establish that the same people who were experiencing headaches prior to these changes in the availability of salicylates are the same that are represented after the changes. Otherwise, we cannot know if the number of headaches simply decreased due to population loss such as death or moving away, or the reported effect of salicylates.

A more robust study is needed to address the efficacy of commercially available salicylates on the reduction of headaches in Mentia residents. It is unclear how many people were included in the survey methods sample and how they were selected for inclusion. If the sample size is too small, then statistical analyses would be rendered obsolete and any conclusions drawn from them would be erroneous. Next, the study should be sure to construct their analyses so that participants are paired with themselves and not utilize aggregate data. This would serve to mitigate the effects of population loss on the number of headaches. Additionally, self-report methods are subjective, by nature. The are also subject to the effects of social desirability; participants may be more reluctant, or more incapable to accurately report the number of headaches due to losses in cognitive functioning via aging, for example.

In conclusion, the study should be reconducted with a larger sample, address and consider the effects of population change, and ensure that participants serve as their own control. Additionally, further research to support the bioavailability and mechanism of action of the commercially available salicylates is needed to support the conclusions of the present study.