Science is meaningless without religion.

Often, we fail to recognize the symbiotic relationship between science and religion; rather, we presuppose them to be opposing and incompatible forces. Religious uncertainties and philosophical questions about the ways of the world, generate the compendium of scientific knowledge. A wider gaze at this issue is needed to recognize that science could not have developed without the inchoate nature of religious cosmology.

In the golden era of Islamic knowledge and tutelage, the leaders of the Islamic world sought to abide by the scripture of the Quran fastidiously. For example, it is widely known that adherents of Islam must face Mecca when praying. This religious mandate brought about the development of a robust system for locating Mecca, regardless of one's position on Earth--the field of spherical geometry was born. In other words, religious customs can generate scientific discovery.

Galileo was famous for proving that the Earth revolves around the Sun and overturning centuries of religious dogma that would suggest otherwise. His heliocentric model sought to challenge the fundamental hermetic laws of nature that were upheld for thousands of years. A crucial element to Galileo's generation of this knowledge was the conflict maintained between extant religious doctrine and novel, keen observation; a lack of claims made by religion would have resulted in a lack of phenomena to investigate.

Therefore, historically religion has served as one source of generating the inquiries of science, but if we accept an accretional view of science, the domains of religious knowledge are rapidly diminishing and science has become increasingly less dependent on its existence to function. As science progresses, its tendency to reflect on itself, and by extension, its ability to produce knowledge grows exponentially, regardless of the historical sources of its most inchoate inquiries.

With advancements made in artificial intelligence and machine learning, the anthropocentric generation of knowledge is becoming increasingly tense. The meta-analyses and discoveries produced by efficient and rapidly absorbant computers and technologies far exceed the rate of development of science in its earliest conception. The ability of science to make accurate and practical applications of its discoveries in a myriad of fields far exceeds that of religion, and by virtue of this pragmatism, science has inherent value.

Science, then, can be seen as a self-referential and self-improving system which takes as inputs the most fundamental questions about human nature, which historically have been rooted in religion. Science, therefore, has value beyond the agents of its generation.