Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

One of the principle goals of any educational institute is to impart quality education to the students. The achievements and accolades garnered by the students in their career is testament to the excellence of the institute. If it persuades the students what is not right for them, they may opt for a field where they have a greater chance for success. This ultimately results in growth in the reputation for the institute.

Moreover, if the students are given sound advice regarding their weaknesses, their trust in the institute increases. They may recommend the institute for, among other things, the quality of career guidance offered there. The respect and good name of the institute will increase as well.

Another major advantage is that when students are told about the fields where their chances of success are low, they may opt not to choose them for their graduation. This translates to lesser number of incompetent students pertaining a particular field. This makes the job of the teachers much easier, as they get to teach more suitable students.

However, it may happen that the students who are dissuaded from studying a particular field are not as weak as perceived. Perhaps, they may have created the wrong impressions in spite of having the abilities. It is also possible that a student is a late-bloomer, that is, he shows better skills later on. Such inferences, therefore, may turn out to be wrong. But the chances of this happening are quite less.

Convincing a student that he should not take up a field which is beyond his ability not only leads to much better academics and career for the student, but also reduces the strain of the institute. Therefore, I believe educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed