Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels

The author's argument that the business in Central Plaza is steadily decreasing because of the popularity of skateboard is flawed for numerous reasons. In the argument, the author uses vague and assumptious term to demonstrate that only the popularity of skateboarding is responsible to decrease the business in central plaza, whereas there could have no relation between them. Furthermore, there is no statistical data or evidence found regarding the increase or decrease of business in Central Plaza that can convince the readers.

To begin, decreasing the number shoppers may have other reason and could have no relation to the popularity of skateboard. But author claims that increasing popularity of skateboard is responsible for that which does not have proper evidence. Perhaps there could be another promising shopping mall where the shoppers are shifted for better profit. Moreover, it is also possible that the number of customers visiting the mall has been reduced due to their economic crisis, as a result, the shoppers decided to move.

Furthermore, the author does not depict convincing statistics regarding the decrease of shoppers and the increase of skateboarding popularity. Again, there is also no information about the revenue of the shoppers. This could be an important factor to decide whether or not the shoppers have moved for financial reason or not. The dramatic increase of litter and vandalism also infer that the lack of security in that mall which could have been a potential reason for the shoppers to move.

In conclusion, the argument has several basic weak points that cannot be overlooked easily and the conclusion is not enough strong to convince the readers. The argument could have been more strengthened if convincing statistics chart or survey were given. However, as it stands, the argument is flawed for indicated reasons.