"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presents a case for prohibition of skateboarding in Central Plaza in order to compensate for the recent loss in business supposedly caused by it. However, the argument does not make a cogent, convincing case for fulfilling the recommendation presented as the information provided is rife with holes and gaps.

The first major ambiguity is regarding the actual source of the information. There is no data provided regarding the nature of the study itself, and details such as the depth of analysis or whether all shops and their statistics were indeed, correctly interpreted. There is no substantial evidence which actually correlates the decline in the number of shoppers to the popularity of skateboarding, only a “belief” by many store owners, who may be making an uninformed guess. The study on the numbers regarding the shoppers and skateboarders may not have been performed thoroughly or consistently. For example, if the study was, correctly conducted and recorded only on working days during a vacation period such as summer break, this timing could present a reason for an increase in the number of skateboarders since they majoritarily tend to be school-going kids.

The next instance of an inconsistency to be addressed in the presented argument is the correlation of the data presented. The account mentions an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. However, there is no clear relationship between this and the number of shoppers or skateboarders. The shoppers could be contributing to this themselves, there could be a recent gang problem, or it may be due to a recent shortage in the number of cleaning staff in the Plaza- there could be multiple explanations for the litter and vandalism. Also, a ban in skateboarding could potentially reduce the number of shoppers further, since a portion of the shoppers may also be skateboarders. A recent decline in the number of shoppers may be due to the recent growth of popularity in online shopping. These external factors further weaken the argument. Since inadequate correlation between data has been provided, the clear causes and effects of the situation is not known.

In conclusion, while the city could take some measures to tackle the issue of declining number of shoppers in Central Plaza, banning of skateboarding in the area would not be justified based off the argument presented due to the lack of germane, substantial information to support the argument.