To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What defines the primary characteristics of a society? Some may argue that a society can be understood by analysing its major cities, but to truly encapsulate the actual nature of a society, one must also look at all of its components, major or minor.

The main qualities of a society can be characterised by its social, economical and cultural factors. These aspects tend to remain highly dynamic, particularly in major cities and urban areas. Take for example, the country of India. When its major cities such as Bangalore, Delhi or Mumbai are considered, the societal demographic would contain many similarities to more global, international cities. This is because of the large influence of Western civilisation and culture on the urban population of these areas, which consequently impact its people. To delineate this perspective, recent studies conducted have shown that when we consider the mindset of people regarding traditional customs and religion in major cities, they tend to have a broader outlook as compared to a rather myopic, rigid outlook of the people of rural and smaller areas. If only major cities are studied to understand a society, these nuances will be ignored, causing a rather inaccurate account to be drawn.

In areas having significant cultural history in particular, stark differences can be seen between the societal structure of major and minor cities and areas. Major cities, while containing traces of its history, do not provide an appropriate account of the society of an area as they are, ultimately, palimpsests of modernisation and urbanisation. The real information about such factors can be drawn by looking at smaller towns and villages which haven’t been a part of globalisation, enabling one to distinguish the unique factors of a society. When the city of Bangalore is compared to the village of Channapatna, which is roughly 100km from the city, differences can be noticed in the form of the people’s lifestyles, which tend to be more active and “9-5” in the city as compared to those of the villagers, whose primary occupations include toy-making and agriculture. The government in the city follows a formal, clear cut hierarchy whereas the village follows a “Panchayat”, or a group of elders who govern the village. The “Panchayat” form of government was indeed the actual form of governance in India before global influences, and such information could not have been obtained only if major cities were studied.

One could argue that studying major cities could provide the information about a society because most of the population tends to be concentrated in these areas, and hence the more relevant and applicable information can be obtained from this. However, this would provide a very general account of information without considering the subtleties and nuances that distinguish different societies from one another.

In conclusion, a society is an eclectic mixture of its people and features. A in-depth, comprehensive understanding of a society can hence be made only if all of its aspects, including major and minor cities and constituents, are analysed thoroughly.