“Over the past two years, the numbers of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many central plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to increase no. of skateboard users in plaza. there has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in central plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that the business in central plaza will return to its previously high numbers.”

The owner of Central Plaza concludes, that the escalating popularity of Skateboarding has negatively affected the business of Plaza due to which the numbers of shoppers have gone been depleting. The recommendation he puts seem plausible but, the premises author cites to come to conclusion are rather cursory, and cogently does not make a proper justification for the conclusion. So, before jumping into the conclusion, the author needs to answer three questions.

First and foremost, are they the same individuals who shifted from shopping at plaza to skateboarding? The author assumes, without evidence, that the shoppers who come to Plaza are the same ones that shifted to Skateboarding as the author mentions that prohibition of Skateboarding can make Plaza’s business as it was before. However, this might not be the case. They might not be same individuals, or perhaps they recently have shifted near to the plaza, who are not even keen enthusiast of shopping. If any of these scenarios has merit, then the author’s claim is unwarranted.

Furthermore, can rise in skateboarding number be only attributed for the decline in business of Plaza? The author prematurely does not account any other factors that might have brought the business down. For instance, there is a possibility of onset of another Plaza with similar characteristics, or perhaps individual belief on the central plaza has diminished due to its recent controversy, and opted not to shop there. So, the blame for the fall of plaza cannot be solely given to skateboarding. If either of case is true, then the author’s contention does not hold water. The author also mentions about the increase in litter and vandalism that has hampered its business. But, if this is the reason then, he forgets to clarify why the business of Skateboarding hasn’t been on the downside. Also, residents might have started to move out from the place due to increase in vandalism, whereas the author seems to have forgotten to take this factor into account.

Finally, the author believes that only the prohibition of skateboarding can increase Plaza’s business to its new height. However, during the two years’ period, things like economic fallout can occur, or perhaps people’s will for shopping might have gone down. It is also likely that the people have switched their interest to somewhere else, may be for investment. The author also mentions about the increase in litter and vandalism that has hampered its business. But, if this is the reason then, he forgets to clarify why the business of Skateboarding hasn’t been on the downside. Also, residents might have started to move out from the place due to increase in vandalism, whereas the author seems to have forgotten to take this factor into account. Unless, the author does not consider the mentioned scenarios, the argument can be challenged.

In conclusion, it is possible that prohibiting skateboarding can increase Plaza’s business. However, as it stands now, the argument is predicated on three unstated assumptions that leaves the argument specious. Hence, the reason for plaza’s business to go down depends on wide range of domain and cannot solely be attributed to just rise on skateboard enthusiast. Therefore, the author needs to access all these domains and be more thorough in his research about the fall of Plaza’s business come out with powerful premises to bolster the argument.