“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

First of all, it is important to provide information on the residency of the average viewer. No show can give people from a city the news that are happening in another area and expect this to be a successful business plan: people want to hear about what is happening in their area. Therefore, it would be a great piece of information for producers and presentators to get to know their audience better. And, of course, it is perfectly possible that the audience be from more than one area - even states or countries - as there is people in both sides of the border watching the news, say, in El Paso-Juárez or in Portland-Vancouver, where people do not, necessarily, care about the local news of the other place (people in Chihuahua, Mexico, mostly want to go shopping to Texas, USA).

Then, there is the argument that most complaints are concerned with the same issue is, of course, a good reason to worry. But, what about previous complaints? Are viewers (broadly speaking) complaining more or less now than before? This, again, is an important source of information, as it helps to assess the present situation in the light of how it used to be. What if the audience used to complaint much more before, say, because they were being forced to watch the local news of a metropolitan area that were not theirs? On the other hand, are the viewers truly complaining or only suggesting some changes? Perhaps the manager is not understanding the whole point of the audience, just acting out of fear of losing revenue.

Finally, local businesses used to advertise during the late-night program and are, apparently, massively canceling contracts, arguably because of this shift from local to national news. It is never good news to be losing revenue, but what if this is only a shift from local-only to nation wide businesses? Is it not much better to have such clients? So, in order to correctly assess this situation, it would be necessary that the manager presented decision makers with the information on advertising revenues, so that it is clear to everyone who is paying for the content of the program.

For all the reasons mentioned, it is not clear that the conclusion reached by the manager - that more time needs to be devoted to weather and local news - is the correct step for the makers of the late-night show. An assessment of the situation should include data on the audience (where do they live? different area, state or even country?), on the complaints over the time (frequence and volume of the complaints before and now, as well as its content), and, of course, data on the revenues (is total revenue diminishing or only shifting from local to national businesses?). With that in mind, no successful business decision can come without this information.