"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

With the past year of changing the programing on the late night news, more specific information and evidence is needed to ensure that changing back to the old programming would have the desired effect of attracting more viewers and maintaining (if not restoring) advertising revenues to former levels.

One incredibley important piece of information to evaluate would be to how levels of viewership on comparable late night news programs have changed over the last year as well. Looking to competitors in the area would be the first step in best guaging how to move forward. This fact covers things twofold: If other news programs have changed their focus towards national news, have they seen similar dips in viewership and advertising? If so, this would reenforce the argument that the dip in viewership and advertising is due to the change in programming focus.

In the other scenario if other news programs haven't changed, and still maintain focus and air-time on the weather and local news, guaging their viewership and advertising is the single most important specific evidence that could be gathered to evaluate the way forward. If other comparable news programs have maintained the same focus, and seen the same decreases in viewership and advertising, than it can be assumed that changing back to the old focus will not have the desired effect. However, if the same decrease hasn't been seen in comparable late-high programs, then it can be assumed that changing back to the old programs (particularly with the amount of complaints made by viewers to go back to the old programming) will have the desired effect.

Another piece of specific evidence that needs to be guaged is viewership with advertising. Without viewership, advertising (which depends on viewers to consume it) is destined to fall. As go the viewers, so goes the advertising, and with it revenue.

There are other secondary and subsidiary pieces of evidence that can be useful in best evaluating the argument for bringing back the programming focus on weather and local news. What demographic watches late-night news? With the advent and emergence of the internet, and with it news and weather at our fingers tips and click of a button on an app or on Google, news is readily accessable at a moments notice. It can be assumed, then, that the people watching late-night TV programming are of the 'older' crowd, and therefore explaining why viewership is dipping.

The internet also may affect more than just who is consuming the news (i.e. young people), but what news they are actually consuming. The internet exposes people to news from all over the world and from an abosolute cornicopia of sources. The deluge of information that can be consumed, can be almost overwhelming. Siphening out local news from all the news of the world, is a chore in and of itself. Late-night news programming, with its shift to national news, perhaps is creating a redundency that doesn't need to be there. Focusing more on the local news and weather could possibly fill a void to some viewers, therefore reinforcing the argument of moving back to local news and weather.

Overall, some other pieces of information and evidence are still needed to more adequately evaluate the argument posed above. However, I believe there is no downside to switching back to the previous programming, as evidenced by the complaints of viewers, and evidence of a dip in viewership and advertising after the previous year's shift.