The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is skill and trait that is highly debated upon. Can it be taught? Is it an innate character trait? A plethora of scholars and successful professionals all profess to have the single most important trait of a leader or the "Top 5 things every Leader must do". While sometimes helpful and enlightening, I believe a myriad of leadership traits can be boiled down to one single trait: cooperation. Cooperation is the essence of any team or organization: it helps to gain different perspectives, fosters working towards a common goal, and it is a trait that transcends profession. I believe that cooperation, not competition, is the driving force for successful society's leaders and future policy makers.

First, working in any team or collective is one of the baseline, habitual actions any person will do as a member of society. As humans from our primitive stone-age dwellings to today's highly sophisticated megalopolises, working in groups transcends time and culture. Whether the task is slaying a mammoth or working to broker a landmark trade agreement between two nations, cooperation has moved humans forward in multiple fields. Teaching our young people to not only be members of society, but to be its future leaders should make teaching cooperation in classrooms of paramount importance.

This fostering of cooperation is not exclusive to academics and the professional arena. Cooperation permeates most aspects of human interaction at an informal level as well. Interpersonal contact with friends, working with a spouse or partner in raising a family, and even in dealing with a quarrelsome neighbor; cooperation is used in all aspects of society. All of these examples only scratch the service on how often cooperation is used in our day to day. Fostering and instilling this sense into future leaders, will lead to a more productive and socially grounded public.

However, whenever dealing in absolutes (i.e. competition vs cooperation) much nuance is breezed over and more encompassing argument can be left to the wayside. Competition, when fostered in 'healthy' amounts, does have its merits in that it can lead to growth through necessity and desire for achievement. One must be careful in pursuing a competition based sense, while posing as a means of driving society further, it too can lead to regressive tactics that do not foster interoperability.

In conclusion, cooperation is a trait that transcends both professsions and cutlures. I believe that cooperation, not competition, is the driving force for successful society's leaders and future policy makers. When working with colleagues and even when working with others with different values and different skill sets, cooperation can foster desparate groups working towards a common goal. When fostered from a young age, both in professional and day to day interactions, can lead to not only a happier and healthier society, but also a vastly more productive one.