Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In this argument, the manager asserts that the TV station has to increase the portions of weather and local news back to the original level in order to keep the revenue. Although the assertion may look reasonable at first glance, the argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the manager assumes that the viewer of the channel complained about the coverage of weather and local news because the channel reduced the devoted time of weather and the local news. However, it is possible that they didn't complain about the length of time the program spent on weather and local news. It might happen because the weather of the program wasn't accurate and some of the local news were outdated. In order for the assumption to be correct, the manager should look into the real reason why viewers made complaints.

Second, the argument cited that the advertisements were canceled once the program spent less time on weather on local news. The argument has a problem is that nowadays there are many media that local businesses can use for marketing, such as social media or text messaging and some of them are even cheaper than TV commercials. The manager jumped to the conclusion that less coverage of weather and local news caused the cancellation of advertisements. However, there is a very weak correlation between the two facts.

Lastly, the manager claims that extending the devoted time for weather and local news would bring back viewers as well as advertisements from local businesses. However, even though the program restores the allocation of its portions, there is no guarantee that the number of viewers would increase or local businesses start buying the times for TV commercials. What's worse is that there is a chance that new viewers of the program who like the longer coverage on national news may stop watching the program once the allocation is restored. Before making any decision, the manager should research on the consequences of each decision.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide enough evidence for restoring the devoted time to weather and local news will bring back viewers and advertisements of local businesses to the program because it primarily depends on the weak assumptions and insufficient grounds mentioned above. Since the argument does not present reliable data on the true reasons of viewers' complaints and cancellations of advertisement, and the real number of viewers who want to watch more coverage of weather and local news, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.