"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although the memorandum from the business manager can surely be a matter of concern for the television station, as the viewers complain about their needs. But the assumptions made by the business manager does not reveal the actual cause. Firstly, the manager should provide a detailed explanation, about the programs being offered a year before and how many households have been benefitted by their television station. Was their business showed an increase or decrease and how popular it was before. Viewers' reviews could have been a good source of data.

Secondly, national news is important for citizens of a country, but local news makes people aware of their locality. Also, people require weather news as well since it makes them prepared for different weather like snowfall, rainfall and others as a part of their safety measures. Hence the cause of giving less time to it should be known in order to find if the television station was actually showing the weather or not. Regarding the complaints of viewers, the manager should have mentioned if it were from old viewers or the new ones.

Lastly, cancellations of the advertising contracts does not evince that it is because of giving less time to local and weather news. A reason has to be provided so as to why they have done so. The television station might have failed to live up to their expectations due to its unpopularity. Or maybe they want a change in their preferred timings. Therefore knowing the reason is important.

To conclude, weather news and local news are of utmost importance as it helps in the well-being and awareness amongst the people. But to put forward the recommendation, a detailed survey and more evidence are needed.