"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author in this passage discusses problems that have occurred over the past year and how these problems hindered the success of the late-night news program. The author states that the lack of air time devoted to weather and local news has warranted complaints from the viewers and decreased the advertising revenue. He thus concludes that increase in ad revenue and customer satisfaction will follow if the news channel gives more air time to weather and local news. In order to evaluate the business manager's argument, two specific pieces of evidence must be demonstrated.

The business manager's first argument to support an increase of air time for weather and local news is based on customer complaints that the late night news program has received. The evidence needed in case of any customer complaint, be it TV news or Restaurant business, is quantitative analysis of complaints. Does the business manager have a qualitaive and quantitative report on how many customers complained? Was it 10? 15? Maybe it was just one. What exactly were these customers complaining about? And lastly, how would a change in late-night news programming effect these customers? What would change in their behavior and more importantly what evidence do we have to support that additional customers will ensure if the program shifts its focus on weather and local news. If the business manager provides qualitative evidence of customer complaints and follows it up with a thorough quantitative study on the effects of increased time on weather and local news, then his argument is worth considering. However, if he can not provide sufficient analytical proof regarding the increase in customer satisfaction and in the number of viewers, then his argument is based on assumptions and generalizations and therefore does not hold water.

The second argument that the business manager makes to support his assertion of increased time for local and weather news is that local advertisers are currently canceling their contracts with the TV program. The business manager, however, does not provide any evidence whatsoever to elucidate why is it exactly that these local businesses are stopping their advertising. How do we know that the reason is the decrease in weather/local news? Maybe the advertising is not in their budget this quarter or maybe the are shifting their focus to online ads. Without sufficient proof, it is impossible to put the blame on late-night news programming. In addition to that, the business manager claims that increase in local and weather news will bring in additional ad revenue. Again, without sufficient proof, be it negotiations with prospective clients or some form of qualitative research, there is no factual evidence to support the claim that increase of weather news will bring in more revenue. Thus, failing to provide such justification inadvertently makes the argument weak.

All in all, the author must address the two major flows in his argument, among others, and provide sufficient evidence to convince his intended audience in the veracity of his claims.