"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The given argument is falwed in numerous ways. the argument is based of some unwarranted assumptions . The business manager assumes that the of number viewers have reduced beacause their program devotes more time to the national news and less time to weather and local news, and many such assumtions are made with no certain proof or explianation.

The claim made by the manager states that most of complaints received by them were concerned about their coverage in weather and local news but he doenot mention the amount of complaints received by the viewers .It could be that the total number of complaints might have reduced and the ratio of the local and weather news related complaints are more. for instance if the company used to receive 50 complain amongst which 20 were about the local news and wether and now the the total complaints could be 30 amonst which only 10 are local news related then the argument will completely fall apart.

Further the manager also assumes that the advertising contracts are being cancelled because of the amount of time devoted to the national and local news ,but provides no proof of ths being the reason . the advertising comapany might have cancelled because of the increase in the news channel companies prices to broadcaste their ads of may be they might not want to advertise on te news channel at all. the argument would have been more stronger if the manager would the advertising agencies and their requirements .

The manager also makes various unexplained assumtions about the attracting the viewer and not losing the revenue generated from the advertisement agencies. If he would have mentioned the overall feedback of the viewers and their preference related to the the time allocation the the assumptions would be more stronger.