issue topic claim: creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence

Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence

Intelligence can be measure by how cogent the person is,or by the way he or she deals with the situation and various such factors. But typically we measure the intelligence by how well they perform in their academics but is it the right way?. I don't think that only the academic brilliance should be a measure of intelligence. In fact i agree that creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Let's consider the example of GRE analytical writing , even a standardized test like this judges the student on the way they think and how creatively they can pen down their thoughts and arguments. Creativity is not just to make the essay fanciful but also to view a situation with a different perspective and and describe it.A well put essay could help the examiner to understand the quantitative reasoning and critical analysis done by the student

Creativity is usually compared art and craft but it is not so.Creativity is how well you can express your thoughts via your speech, Letter, painting, poems or stories. There are various solution provider companies which just work on the problem statement provided my their clients and provide creative solutions. one such example was of a funnel, so the symmetrical funnel faced the problem of clogging so the solution provided by the company was to provide an asymmetrical funnels such as both the flows cut each other at 90 degree which led to no clogging.This was an example for creative thinking and providing intelligent solution

On the other hand we cannot deny the fact that the students who excel academically are intelligent as subjects like math and science requires high logical analysis. They might not be creative in the way they express their thoughts but it does not make them any less intelligent.

The overall reasoning and thinking should be the measure of intelligence.