Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with

As per the argument, the author is in willingness to convince that the late-night news programs, devoted to covering national news, should focus more on covering the weather and local news. Certain tangential evidences are also stated to support the point.

First of all, the author didn't mention the domain of the channel that will delineate the kind of programs broadcasted on it. For instance, it could be a national channel where all the kind of programs are come and new program is just a part of it or it could be a business news channel on which they have dedicated a part of it for national news. Therefore, information about the channel required on a rudimentary basis to support the argument.

Apart from this, the author mentioned that the weather and local news are part of the late-night new program but the time span allotted to it is less. This information is seems to be incomplete as the parameters on which the program was initially structured is not given. For example, the channel may be broadcasting the weather and local news on some other time slot and that is why they decided to give precise information to cover the local and weather report in this program.

In addition to this, the author asserted that they are getting complaints from the viewers of the program who were concerned with local and weather news. The author repeated the same mistake of not providing the complete information about the viewers such as number of viewer to the numbers viewers they get complaint from. Consider that the viewers that are complaining may not be concerned about the national news but there might be large number of spectators who are interested in national news only and the other news will not bother them much. Thus, this information do plays a vital role to come a rigid conclusion whether the argument is fruitful or not.

Furthermore, the author also claimed that several local business cancelled their advertising contract of the late night program, but he did not provide the reason of cancellation. This could be because the cost of advertising is more or aforementioned, the viewers may not be the targeted audience. Hence, This allegation to support the evidence proved less cogent.

Not only this, the author proclaimed that the program should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all the news programs to regain their advertising revenue. This ultimate coda might adversely affect the channel as they could restructure all their programs based on this partial analysis.

In conclusion, more data analysis is needed by author to prove his allegation that will buttress his points and also help the channel in gaining more viewers as well as the advertisers.