"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author has presented a case from a memorandum of business manager. The manager told that reducing the allotted time for weather and local news and increased time for national news has brought adverse effect in terms of popularity and revenue generation. He proposed if the old-time allotment is restored for local and weather forecasting, the news company might be able to bring back their popularity and advertisement revenue. However, the argument is not entirely convincing, since it has ignored some crucial assumptions. Also, the manager had made several unwarranted assumptions. As a result, the argument becomes invalid.

First, the argument never addressed how much time they have truncated from the weather forecasting and local news. As an example, if the previous partition of time for local and weather news was for 2 hours straight and now they might have reduced it to highlights or some mere minutes. So, without exact figures are mentioned, the argument is not valid. Also, the amount of complaints received for reducing for reducing local and weather forecasting is ambiguous. So, without real numbers and surveys, the argument is not valid.

Second, the manager assumes that the complaints received and advertisements reduced were solely due to the truncated scheduling of local news and weather forecasting. Maybe the viewers and ad agencies are not concerned with the national news, maybe local news and local weather are of higher importance to them. Without foolproof evidence, this argument is also invalid.

Finally, the loss of advertisement and viewers were correlated with the same problem, perceived by the manager. Revenue and viewer loss might not be correlated at all, maybe a good station has emerged, which is gaining popularity, or local people is not loving the news channel anymore. Anyway, bringing back the old schedule might not improve their revenue and popularity like old times. The logic should have been supported by actual statistics and surveys, to gain validity.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The manager has made a number of invalid assumptions and used vague terms in order to make his arguments strong, which should have been improved by instilling some proper statistics and surveys with the argument. Only re-installing old timetable might not bring back the similar advertisement revenue and viewers, might not decrease the complaints made by the viewers by simply increasing the time for local and weather news, the manager has to invest more time and energy to make this case valid, by using surveys made from the customer's opinion and actual revenue statistics from previous years and of other similar companies.