“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5 inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits”

The argument that over time costs of processing go down because organizations learn to do things better is somewhat flawed and omits serious concerns that must be addressed to substantiate the argument. The comparison that follows the statement, between the food and colour film processing industries brings rise to a set of questionable assumptions . As there may be many factors altering the cost of production between industries, this alone does not constitute to a logical argument in favour of a rise in profits, and it certainly does not provide support or proof for the main argument.

First, the argument assumes that experience automatically equates to a reduction in cost. In a weak attempt to support its claim, the argument compares the food processing industry to that of the colour print industry, assuming that they would follow similar paths. But if the cause of the colour prints’ cost reduction was due to factors other than experience, such as the lower cost of machinery, change in personnel or reduction in cost of raw materials such as transport costs then this would not guarantee in any way a reduction in the cost of food processing today. To make the argument more logically sound, evidence of Olympic Food’s marginal cost of production (year to date) should be shown proving that the cost of production is indeed following a trend like that assumed.

Second, the prices used to compare the colour print processing are not comparable as they offer a different service. 50 cents for a 5 day service as opposed to 20 cents for a 1 day service is not a equivalent service as buying goods or services in bulk usually tend to be cheaper.

Third, the argument never addresses the interlink between the health of the economy, the health of the company and how it translates to profit. The argument makes the assumption that a reduction in cost equates to an increase in profits. This can be a dangerous argument to make, thus guaranteeing profits to a set of stake holders without taking into consideration factors such as inflation, cost of raw materials, debt, projected sales, economic/political uncertainty, employee performance etc. Evidence of the company’s accounts showing the company’s financial health must be analysed before making claims of a projected increase in profits. The competition must also be considered to ensure the price mark will not drop drastically and have a negative effect in profits.

Finally, the argument does not provide any details of what can be done better due to the experience and instead uses a rather vague explanation of “things will be done better” thus giving no substance to their claims.

Because the argument leaves out several key issues, it is not sound or persuasive. If it included more items discussed above instead of solely using the flawed example of colour prints, the argument would have been more thorough and convincing.