“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its twenty-fifth birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

Citing a case where an organization of a dractically different industry was able to minimize the costs and maximize profit, the author makes a sweeping conclusion of similar gains in completely different industry. Stated this way, the argument manipulates the facts to jump to conclusion without providing any valid assumption for such a remark. The argument also states that the time taken for his/her industry to improve its organizational efficiencies is going to be similar to another industry without drawing any parallel and hence not providing any real basis for such conclusion. This argument, the way it is presented, is flawed.

Firstly, the argument fails to mention the parallels between the processing of films and processing of food. To be able to cogently conclude that the metrics of improvements from one industry can be applied to another, one needs to be able to draw measurable, strict parallels. The argument does not talk about what kind of processing in film industry was improved over time. This makes the argument weak. For example, if the main driver of decreased costs was the improved safety from one of the harmful chemicals that is used while creating a film and the food processing industry does not even use that chemical, then the argument is weakened and hence the argument does not hold true. On the other hand, if the driver of decreased cost for film industry was an automation which is now available for all industries then, the author can make such assumptions. Overall, we do not have enough information for such a remark.

Secondly, the author mentions an industry in a different time. Whereas even comparing two different industries for a particular process improvement makes the argument look weak, comparing them at two completely different periods of time makes the argument further weaker. The argument does not provide any information on what type of process improvement revolutions really happened between 1970 to 1984. Was there an industrial robotics revolution which, although helped film industry, cannot help food processing industry because they are already using the latest processing optimization with respect to automations.

Thirdly, the author is extremely vague on what constitutes minimization of costs and maximization of profits. On one hand the author makes sweeping comparisons, and on the other he/she fails to provide any details on what the terms mean. If the author is expecting improvements similar to film industry, that is one thing we can critically analyze. However, if only 10% of film industry's profit improvments are enough to constitute successful improvements for the author, then that becomes a different puzzle to solve.

Overall, more context is needed if we are to determine if such a drastic comparison is possible. When information about the type of processing that is being talked about, the time frame when such processing improvements are expected is mentioned and a better metric on the expected cost minimization and profit maximization metrics is provided, the argument would have a better chance of standing against the multitudes of critical questions being thrown at it.