A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that a pet food company decided not to pursue more investigation on its recalled food because it concluded that its food was not responsible for the illness caused in pets based on the fact that all chemicals found in the food were those that were approved for usage. On the outset its claim seems reasonable, but there are some unanswered questions that need to be answered before the company can shut down the investigation with full certainty.

The first question that needs to be addressed is how the samples for the food were chosen. As the amount of pet food that was recalled amounted to 4 million pounds, it is understandable that the company decided to test samples instead of investigating the whole amount. However, there is no information on the details of the samples. Were they chosen sufficiently random enough to ensure that the samples are indeed representative of the whole amount? The company could have gone through a pre-screening test to find samples that didn't have any harmful chemicals to lead to the conclusion that there are no problems with their product. There needs to be details on how the samples were chosen in order to fully validate that the quality of the recalled food is pristine.

Also, further scrutiny is needed on the chemicals that were found to be approved for use in pet food. Based on the information given in the argument, there is no way of knowing whether the chemicals were approved to be used in a mixture with other chemicals, or just by themselves. There could have been a noxious chemical reaction when the chemicals were mixed together, which would not be found in the investigation if the chemicals were tested separately one by one. The company should put more resources to find out if there is a possibility that the problem could have been due to a harmful mix of chemicals that are innocuous if used separately, but lethal when combined together.

Another point to consider in this investigation is that there is a total lack of research on other ingredients of the recalled pet food. There are many other ingredients that comprise pet food besides chemicals; to enhance the flavor of the food, there could be portions of meat or chicken for dog food, and tuna or anchovies for cat food. Also, there could be various types of vegetables contained in the pet food. It could be possible that the pets suffered such excruciating illnesses because these other ingredients were spoiled when put into manufacturing. Therefore, the company should not cease its investigation based solely on the fact that the chemicals were deemed safe; it should look into other ingredients that could have gone bad at the time they were making the product.

In conclusion, the pet food company should not make a rash decision to close its investigation because the chemicals in the food were found to be fit for the food. Data isn't sufficient enough to confirm that the samples of the test could represent the whole recalled amount, nor is there enough evidence to say that the chemicals wouldn't cause a harmful reaction. Also, there are other comprising materials in the pet food that have not been considered yet, which could be found to be harmful. As a result, the investigation should be continued.