A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

In the argument the author concluded that the pet company should stop investigation into its pet food after the recall of foods from the market. This conclusion is based on the chemicals found founded in the food sample. However the conclusion is based on several assumptions which weakens the foundation of the conslusion.

Firstly, the author stated that the company had tested samples but the size of the sample is not stated clearly. The size of the sample is very important here as the recalled amount is also very high. It is possible that the sample the company tested was very small and became biased, which resulted in a favorable conclusion for the company. Other unapproved chemicals could have been present in other samples. There are many scientifically established standard for testing for such situation. To make the argument more persuasive the author should have stated the method and size of the sample.

Secondly the author stated that the chemical that were found in the food were approved but did not stated the authority who approved the chemicals. It is important because the standard actually varies from country to country. This is because the breeds of pet that are available, the atmosphere, food habit, all plays a role in the food chemical approval. One can not always use the chemicals approved by a authority in a different country to be used in another country. In this argument the mentioning the approving authority would have made more important impact.

Another important assumption made by the author here that even if the the chemicals that were used wwere safe but did not give the information about whether the mixing ratio was also suitable for the animals. For a chemical compund the amount of and the raio in which they are mixed with the other chemicals is very important. It is possible that a particular chemical might not be lethal on its own but mixing the chemical with another compounf might become lethal. Also consuming a chemical in large amount which is safe in moderate use can also affect adversly. So, although the chemicals used by the company might be safe the ratio in which they were used is also very important. This information is needed before making the decision.

So, although the conslusion of the argument sounds logical based on the proofs presented here but these conslusion is based on some flawed assumptions. This assumptions needs to be investigated before pulling the plug on the investigation of the pet food.