A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt recommends that further resources not be expended in investigating the cause of the sign of illness of the pets that had consumed the pet food in question. While the evidence presented to support this recommendation appears reasonable, on closer examination they appear to be based on unfounded assumptions.

First, it is assumed that the collected samples which were tested for chemicals are representative of the whole sample of pet food sold and consumed by the pets. If this is not the case, then the argument is flawed as the results of the test conducted on the samples is not conclusive about the nature of the chemicals present in all of the pet food produced and consumed by the pets.

Second, it is assumed that the method of testing employed on the collected samples are infallibly accurate.It is possible that the method of analyzing the composition of the collected samples were wrong and were unable to detect the presence of a toxic component which might have resulted in the observed illness of the pets that consumed the pet food. If this is true, then the recommendation to halt further investigation is a hasty one.

Lastly, it is also assumed, albeit more subtly, that all the chemicals found in the tested samples were in the right proportion as approved for pet food. This eliminates the consideration that there may be a chemical possibly present in excess proportion than is innocuous to the pets which consumed the pet food. Because it is possible that a chemical might be present in excess proportion, halting the investigation at this stage seems ill-advised.

It is possible that the collected samples are representative of the whole pet food produced and consumed by the pets, that an accurate method was employed in testing the samples, and that the chemicals in the pet food are present in their approved proportions, but if these assumptions are not backed by appropriate evidence, the recommendation to hold back resources for further investigation lacks substantiated evidence to have merit.