The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the writing, the president and the director of Grove college are discussing whether abolishing only-female tradition would be beneficial to the university. The main reason why the president support it is the expected number of application, while the director emphasizes on the survey results saying students and alumnae want to keep their tradition. Both opinions and claims are typical when women's universities have same arguements from time to time, however, there are some questions need to be answered to evaluate which side is the more reasonable opinion.

First of all, for the president's statement, he needs to answer the question whether abolisment of the old policy was the only significatn factor that increased applicats number. In many cases, private foundations promise women's universities that they would invest them if they change their school policy to adopt male students as well. In such case, abolishing female-only policy will not directly augment the number of applicants. Also, even if there are more applicants, it is still questionable whether the difference is statistically significant since it is not surprising to have more applicants if there is doubled number of students who can apply for the university. If the president can say 'yes' for both of the questions, his opinion would sound much more powerful and compelling.

And for the director's argument mentioning about freshmen and alumnae also needs more evidence to support his opinion. He clamied that the freshmen surveys showed the primary reason they selected Grove was becasue it is female-only university. However, is does not sound meaningful for this argument. For how long the surveys were conducted? Who conducted the surevey? What were the other opitions for the question? We can not decide whether the survey result is reliable unless the director answers to these questions. Next, he also needs to answer a few more questions about the alumnae's opinion. Since the most of students leave their community once they graduate, the 'alumnae' might be the ones who share university's traditional value. And this means he needs to answer whether the number of alumnae who disagree with chaning school policy is significant, or they are just a few, extreme minority. If he can show more proves that the evidence is strong enough to say 'yes' to all these questions, he might gain more support from students and alumnae.