Prompt: "The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

Television stations rely on businesses advertisements as their primary source of income. Lost contracts are typically due to lack of views, of which the cause needs to be identified. This television station has falsely concluded that their lack of late night views is solely because they decreased the time devoted to covering local news and weather.

First, there is no evidence that the decrease in views is directly caused by the lack of local news and weather reports. The decrease in television views could be because of fewer people watching TV than before. It could also be true that the decrease in views is caused by a new, competing news station. In order to accurately claim the lack of coverage for the decrease in views, the television station would need supporting evidence, such as a survey of their customers. If the customers do, in fact, proclaim that their lack of viewing is due to decreased coverage of local news and weather, this argument might hold true.

Second, the complaints that the television station received about the local news and weather could be misleading. Were there two or three letters requesting that a few more minutes be spent on local news, or was there a mob of people calling and writing to demand more weather coverage? The television station does not state what exactly the complaints were about. Maybe the customers were upset at the quality of the local news and weather report and that is why they stopped watching. If the television station produced the nature of the complaints they would have a more accurate argument towards increasing the local news and weather screen time.

Thirdly, it can not be presumed that the businesses canceled their contracts solely due to the lack of late-night views. It is certainly possible that the two companies could no longer come to a legal agreement, or that the businesses are closing down. It can only be assumed that the canceled contracts are due to lack of views if that is explicitly stated by the businesses when they canceled their contracts.

In conclusion, the television station needs to reevaluate the source of their customer's and contractor's dissatisfaction. The lack of late-night viewers may be due to various reasons, and it cannot be concluded that the decrease in local news and weather reports is the cause.